Karen E. Scott Appointed As United States Magistrate Judge for the Central District of California

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version


The United States District Court for the Central District of California announces the appointment of Karen E. (Walter) Scott as United States Magistrate Judge.  Judge Scott, who was sworn in on July 28, 2015, will sit in Santa Ana in the Court’s Southern Division.  Judge Scott succeeds retired Magistrate Judge Robert N. Block.

Before her appointment as a Magistrate Judge, Judge Scott was a partner at Rutan & Tucker LLP, where she concentrated her practice on complex civil litigation in both Rutan’s Business Litigation and Government and Regulatory Law Sections. Her case load included defending class actions alleging violations of California’s Unfair Competition Law and other consumer protection statutes, inverse condemnation actions and title insurance disputes. As a litigator, Judge Scott was honored with the Business & Professional Women’s “Young Careerist” Award and the Judge Learned Hand Emerging Leadership Award.

Judge Scott was born and raised in Orange County, attending El Dorado High School in Placentia.  She completed her undergraduate studies at Stanford University, where she received the University President’s Award for “Academic Excellence.”

In 1996, Judge Scott graduated from Stanford University Law School. She has published materials for commercial CLE programs on topics related to class action litigation. Judge Scott has also been a guest lecturer on Unfair Competition Law at Chapman Law School and Civil Rights Litigation at Whittier Law School.  For many years, Judge Scott has served on the board of directors for the Constitutional Rights Foundation of Orange County, a non-profit organization that presents law-related, educational programs for high school students.

Including the position now occupied by Judge Scott, the Central District of California has 24 authorized full-time and one part-time Magistrate Judge positions. The Central District of California is comprised of the counties of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, Ventura, Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo. It serves approximately 19.6 million people – nearly half the population of the state of California.